Vegetables for Breakfast? Don’t Mind if We Do!

6

March 27, 2013 by vivjm

For me, one of the greatest advantages of home educating has been not having to rush around like crazy to get everyone out the door in the morning. A more relaxed start means more time for breakfast. More time for breakfast means more chance to experiment. Cereal and toast for breakfast is a distant memory from a time gone by. In our house, we like to start the day with some quality protein, and maybe even *gasp* a vegetable or two.

Here’s what we had this morning. Local free range eggs scrambled in butter and served with mushrooms, peppers and red onion sauteed in ghee:

scrambled egg and veg

We have also tried Paleo Girl’s twice baked cauli-tots, and they went down well.

Another family favourite are latkes made with either grated sweet potato, courgette (that’s zucchini to my American friends) or both. These are best topped with a slice of bacon and a poached egg:

sweet potatoe latkes with poached egg & bacon

Yesterday, I stumbled across this recipe for a cauliflower “porridge”, so I think we might have to give that a try soon.

Any new ideas for using vegetables at breakfast would be warmly welcomed πŸ™‚

(sharing this post as part of Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday)

6 thoughts on “Vegetables for Breakfast? Don’t Mind if We Do!

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Veg at breakfast has made a huge difference in my life. My most recent post gives lots of tasty ideas – let me know if you try any πŸ™‚

    • vivjm says:

      Great name πŸ™‚
      I am liking the look of your egg n spinach n mushroom combo, will add that to our “to try” list! I don’t know why more people don’t have veg at breakfast πŸ™‚

  2. Julie says:

    I like veg for breakfast but I mostly can’t be bothered to cook them πŸ™‚ I have made vegetable quiche before then warmed it through in the morning. And I bet creamed spinach would be lovely with eggs too.

  3. I used to eat butternut squash and eggs ALL the time for breakfast… Not sure why I am not doing that anymore – it was absolutely DELICIOUS! πŸ™‚

  4. finchnwren says:

    Most beautiful scrambled eggs ever!

Leave a Reply

