The Challenges of Gravy, No Peanut Butter and Picnics

3

April 3, 2013 by vivjm

Well, I made it through day two and three of my primal eating challenge. For the most part I have been fine, and certainly not beset by any wild cravings. I did quite fancy some peanut butter though… but then I discovered this hazelnut butter and it is YUMMY! I previously tried almond butter and found that just a bit meh, but this stuff is lovely.

hazelnut butter

Another challenge arose when I wanted to make some gravy to go with my homemade meatloaf. Usually I make a roux with fat and gluten free flour before adding stock but of course the gluten free flour is made with grains. Eeek! What to use instead? I improvised with 1 part almond flour to 1 part arrowroot and it worked out fine. The gravy didn’t thicken quite as much as usual, but it wasn’t lumpy and it tasted just fine. Success!

Today was day three of the challenge and we went on a picnic. Usually this would end up being a bit of a carb fest of bread and cereal bars and fruit. Not this time. I planned ahead and took a flask of sweet potato, leek & bacon soup, which I had made the day before. With this I had a small tin of tuna, and some carrot and cucumber sticks spread with organic goat’s cheese. So, a successful picnic. Aside from the weather, which was bloomin freezing, but that’s another story.

3 thoughts on “The Challenges of Gravy, No Peanut Butter and Picnics

  1. Julie says:

    I am trying to be impressed that you are doing so well with your Primal diet – but picnicking outside in this weather beats it hands down 🙂
    Doesn’t meatloaf usually have breadcrumbs? How did you get around that?

    • vivjm says:

      Haha, we’re hardcore picnickers you know 😉
      I suppose meatloaf does usually have breadcrumbs. I made it with pork mince, grated apple & courgette, an egg to bind and a couple of tablespoons of coconut flour. The flour isn’t enough to make it taste coconutty but just enough to help bind it all together.

Leave a Reply

