Red Coleslaw with Yogurt & Tahini Dressing

1

April 4, 2013 by vivjm

In the past, I have quite often made batches of coleslaw but used shop bought mayonnaise to dress them. I no longer want to eat that yucky gloop, but I am too scared of raw eggs to make my own mayonnaise to use (thanks Edwina Currie!). I compromised with this tahini and yogurt dressing which gives a pleasant creaminess as well as that characteristic tahini tang.

coleslaw

Red Coleslaw with Yogurt & Tahini Dressing

1 small red cabbage, shredded
2-3 medium carrots, grated
1 apple, grated

Dressing:
1/4 cup yogurt (preferably home-made but DEFINITELY full fat)
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 tbsp light tahini
salt & pepper to taste

Mix together the vegetables in a large bowl.
In a smaller bowl or jug, whisk the dressing ingredients together until smooth.
Pour the dressing over the vegetables and thoroughly combine.

I served mine with a turkey salad for lunch and it was pretty nice 🙂

turkey & coleslaw

One thought on “Red Coleslaw with Yogurt & Tahini Dressing

  1. I prefer to avoid mayo too, and I’ve found plain Greek yogurt to be a fairly good substitute, especially when combined with other ingredients like Dijon mustard. It’s creamy and has a subtle tang, and nobody has guessed yet that I haven’t been using mayo for my coleslaw for years!

Leave a Reply

