Sage & Onion Squash Biscuits

1

April 9, 2013 by vivjm

I really liked the look of Real Food Forager’s Kabocha Squash Biscuits but I’m not a huge fan of dill (traumatic morning sickness related incident ;-)) so instead, I cooked up a batch using sage. Here’s my version:

sage & onion squash biscuits

Sage & Onion Squash Biscuits

1 cup cooked kabocha squash (or any other type of squash)
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp dried sage
2 tbsp melted butter
3 eggs
2 tbsp coconut flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
salt & pepper to taste

1. In a food processor, puree the squash, eggs and butter.
2. Add the chopped onion, coconut flour, bicarbonate of soda, sage, salt & pepper and whizz briefly to make a stiff batter.
3. Line a large baking tray with greaseproof paper.
4. Drop spoonfuls of the batter onto the baking tray and smooth the top with the back of your spoon.
5. Bake at 190C for about 20 minutes, until golden brown.

These savoury biscuits were wonderfully spongy and light. Gman commented that they reminded him of onion bhajiis – maybe next time I will use some Indian spices instead of the sage and see if they don’t make a spot on replacement for bhajiis. I feel a curry coming on šŸ™‚

I am sharing this post as part of Food Renegade’s Fight Back Friday.

One thought on “Sage & Onion Squash Biscuits

  1. Wow! Great recipe! I chose your version (over the “original” one with dill) because I like sage, and because it made a slightly smaller batch. The batch was the PERFECT size for one baking tray, and the flavors were great! (I also added some dried minced onion to get more of an onion zing.)

    And because I have some cooked butternut squash to use up, I am making this again tomorrow with Indian-flavored spices (cumin seeds, carraway, etc.)

    Thanks for a great recipe. I will use this often. šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment